The Clarence Players

Present Productions

LogoGive Me 1Give Me 2

Our full-length festival production is Brian Friel's Give Me Your Answer, Do!, directed by Frances Hastie.

You can catch it at the Belvoir Players' Studio Theatre on Friday and Saturday 22nd and 23rd February 2019 and at the following festivals in March:

Ballymoney (7th), Newtownabbey (12th), Portadown (14th), Larne (16th) and Newry (28th).

Give Me Your Answer, Do! is set on a sunny August afternoon in the old manse in Ballybeg in County Donegal, now the home of novelist, Tom Connolly, and his wife, Daisy. They are visited by an American agent who may, or may not, purchase Tom`s papers for an American College library. Joining them is their novelist friend, Garrett Fitzmaurice, and his wife, Grainne, whose marriage may, or may not, outlive the year. Absent from the occasion but overshadowing it by her tragedy is Bridget, the mentally-ill daughter of Tom and Daisy, who has been institutionalised since she was a child.

Ballymoney Drama Festival

Our production took second place and Jackie Wilson received the Dalriada Cup for Best Actress, for her portrayal of Daisy Connolly. Included in the nominations were Frances Hastie for Best Director, Rick Andrews for Best Actor, Stephen Connolly for Best Supporting Actor, Dorothy Wiley for Best Supporting Actress and Alan Marshall for Decor.

Newtownabbey Drama Festival

The company received the Davis Brown Orr Runner-up Trophy. Congratulations to Jackie Wilson, Dorothy Wiley (as Maggie Donovan) and Stephen Connolly for their Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress and Best Moment of Theatre Awards. Stephen was also nominated for Best Supporting Actor. Others nominated were Frances Hastie (Best Director), Roger Jennings (Best Actor) and Alan Marshall for Decor and Set Design awards.

Larne Drama Festival

Give Me Your Answer, Do! took the Festival of Britain Commemoration Trophy for highest overall marks at the festival. The Major Williamson Memorial Trophy for Production went to Frances Hastie. The Joan McCully Award for Best Actor went to Stephen Connolly, as Jack Donovan, and the Elizabethan Coronation Trophy for Best Actress to Jackie Wilson. There were nominations for cast members Rick Andrews, Andrew Neill, Dorothy Wiley and Lorraine Stevenson and for Costume, Lights and Set.

Portadown Drama Festival

Congratulations to Stephen Connolly on picking up the Best Supporting Actor award (the R Spence and Son Trophy) and his second Best Moment of Theatre award (the William McKay Kenny Cup). Congratulations too to Jackie and Dorothy on their nominations for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress. Overall, we came fourth.